Support Teaching and Learning


Annual Baum Teaching Workshop

Each year, on the Thursday before fall classes begin, the Teaching Academy coordinates and conducts a one-half day teaching improvement workshop for all campus teaching faculty.

Teaching Awards Recognition Reception

In September of each calendar year the Teaching Academy, along with the Wally Cordes Teaching and Faculty Support Center, hosts a reception at the Alumni Center for the previous year’s award winners.

The Daniel E. Ferritor Award for Departmental Excellence in Teaching

The annual Daniel E. Ferritor Award for Departmental Excellence in Teaching is awarded to the department or academic unit on campus that best displays excellence in teaching. This department received $10,000 and a trophy, as well as having the unit name placed on a university plaque housed in that department for a year. The Ferritor Award is co-sponsored by the Office of the Provost and the Teaching Academy. Find additional information about this award.

Dr. John and Lois Imhoff Award for Outstanding Teaching and Student Mentorship

The Imhoff Award was created by a gift from the John and Lois Imhoff Trust to the UA Teaching Academy. The award recognizes faculty members at the University of Arkansas who have demonstrated consistent and committed excellence in teaching, instruction and mentoring, all qualities central to the mission of a student-centered institution. The recipient must have been nominated by peers, including by a member of the Teaching Academy, and reviewed by an award committee of the academy. The recipient must instruct an introductory or entry-level course that introduces students to their discipline or acquaints students with a discipline. The nominee must demonstrate excellence in classroom teaching. The nominee must demonstrate excellence in student advising and mentoring, including formal academic advising, informal advising, student group or club advising, special project or research instruction and advising, and professional mentorship.

Imhoff Award Recipients

2005 – James Turpin, Chemical Engineering
2006 – Tim Kral, Biological Sciences
2007 – Dick Oliver, Crop, Soil and Environmental Sciences
2008 – Max Meisch, Entomology
2009 – Don Johnson, Agricultural Education, Communications and Technology
2010 – Dub Ashton, Marketing
2011 – Jeffrey J. Ryan, Political Science
2012 – Lorraine Brewer, Chemistry and Biochemistry
2013 – Edgar Clausen, Chemical Engineering
2014 – Calvin White, Jr., History
2015 – Janine Parry, Political Science
2016 – Lori Holyfield, Sociology and Criminal Justice
2017 – Christopher Shields, Sociology and Criminal Justice
2018 – Lynn Meade, Communications